The three candidates in the Hamburg mayor’s race drew for ballot positions on March 31.

Their placements on the ballot, determined by drawing straws at the Ashley County Courthouse Annex building, will by coincidence be alphabetical by last name.

On the ballot, they will be listed in order as:

• Glen D. Lawson

• Keith Long

• David Streeter

The candidates completed the petition process and had their petitions certified with the county clerk’s office by March 25.

Lawson was the first of the candidates to announce his intention to run having announced before qualifying opened but was the last to certify his position. Long and Streeter quickly followed by announcing and certifying their petitions when the qualification period opened.

The three candidates are seeking to finish the term vacated by late Mayor Dane Weindorf, who died in February. City Clerk Peggy Akers is currently serving as acting mayor, and will continue to do so until a winner is certified in the election, which will be June 8.

Whoever is elected to the position will serve through Dec. 31, 2022, and will be eligible to seek re-election to the office.

Lawson has 27 years of experience as a law enforcement officer, including as a chief of police, and has served as constable in three Ashley County townships. He currently owns a business in Hamburg but has pledged to give up ownership if he is elected.

Long’s professional background is in the manufacturing industry, working for Georgia Pacific and Alrez. The University of Arkansas-Monticello’s College of Technology-Crossest (UAM-CTC) currently employs him as an advanced manufacturing instructor.

Streeter has worked in the timber industry but has spent the majority of his professional career in education, teaching for 10 years at Hamburg High School and spending 16 years in educational leadership positions. He is currently the director of Student Services and Affairs at UAM-CTC.

Election day voting will be from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m., and in the event of a run-off, the run-off election will use the same voting hours on June 29.

Early voting for the special election will be June 1 to 4 between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., and will continue during the same hours on June 7.