2020 Officer of the Year

Arkansas State Police Trooper Charles “Ross” Allen accepts a certificate naming him Ashley County’s Law Enforcement Officer of the Year for 2020 from Attorney General Leslie Rutledge.

Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge awarded the Ashley County Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award to Trooper Charles “Ross” Allen with Arkansas State Police. Rutledge presented the county winners at the annual awards and recognition luncheon during the 2020 Officer of the Year luncheon at the Benton Event Center.

“It’s my honor to recognize our law enforcement officers from around the state for their dedication to protecting Arkansans,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “Every day, these brave men and women leave their families without knowing if they will safely return home. Today’s recipients have gone above and beyond for all of us and we are grateful for their dedication and sacrifice.”

In addition to the statewide and regional Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer of the Year awards, Rutledge recognized an Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer winner from counties around the state. Recipients were selected based on recommendations for their dedicated service to Arkansans and can hold law enforcement positions at a college or university, municipal, county, federal or state level. Nominations were provided from police chiefs, county sheriffs, county judges, mayors, prosecutors and other state law enforcement leaders from across Arkansas.

This year’s luncheon was held at the Benton Event Center and followed Arkansas Health Department guidelines. Law enforcement from across the state attended the 18th annual awards ceremony honoring an outstanding law enforcement official from each of Arkansas’s 75 counties.

“Every day law enforcement officers put their lives on the line to protect their communities,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “In Arkansas, we will always back the blue.” 

Rutledge also presented a VALOR tribute, which is given in honor of members of the law enforcement community who tragically lost their lives while in the line of duty this past year. This year’s tribute was presented to the family of eight law enforcement officials who lost their lives.